The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

So I did something with this book that I’ve not done in a while. I sat down and read most of it in one sitting straight through to 3am.

Going into this book I was really skeptical about it because of the overwhelming negativity behind it. I think the main problem is that people were thinking about the concept of not following the traditional main protagonists in a world changing event.

I think what I realised is that I like Patrick Ness’s contemporary work. I love the way he writes the dialogue and just the stories and progression. I just really enjoyed the characters that we followed and I think Ness creates well rounded characters without just following one at a time. The way he eludes to past history without having to describe everything allows the reader to sort of plant their thoughts into the book.

So each chapter contains the snippet of whats happening in the ‘traditional’ main storyline but in all honesty it isn’t needed but it doesn’t hinder the story. It being there reminds you of the books premise overall. I think it sort of gave you some foreshadowing but the main point of this book was focussed around Mike and what was happening with him.

I just couldn’t put it down and I think the negative feelings are really quite unjustified. I think people made this book into something it wasn’t and for that reason I can understand why people may have felt let down by it.

I personally enjoyed Ness’s insight into  what he thinks happens to the rest of the people in the vicinity while the heroes are off doing what they do. I think it is also an interesting look into we as a society react to things we don’t understand or don’t want to think about.

Pick up this book and make your own mind up because the discussion in the community maybe doesn’t fit what you would feel.

I also have decided that even with my negative start of Patrick Ness’s work that I love him as an author. I’ve often wondered if you can love an author even if you hate some of their work. I’ll be writing a blog post about this soon hopefully.

Anyway, that’s me for the day, take care of yourselves out in the world of non-book nerds.

One comment

Leave a Reply

