Confess by Colleen Hoover

confess.jpgAuburn Reed is determined to rebuild her shattered life and she has no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to become deeply attracted to the studio’s enigmatic artist, Owen Gentry.

For once, Auburn takes a chance and puts her heart in control, only to discover that Owen is hiding a huge secret. The magnitude of his past threatens to destroy everything Auburn loves most, and the only way to get her life back on track is to cut Owen out of it—but can she do it?

Published 10th March 2015

303 pages

Try It – 3 stars

Good Reads / WH Smith / Amazon

So after finishing More Than This I needed a relatively short quick book before Lord of Shadows came out, I had this sitting on my shelf from the library and flew through it. I visited Aberdeen for a few days which meant I had a lot of time to read on train journeys.

I have been enjoying Colleen Hoovers books as simple quick reads but only recently got into her New Adult stuff and I enjoy it a lot more than her young adult. I don’t know if that’s due to her still set or just how I relate to the stories due to my age.

I found the characters in this slightly forgettable. It was such a weird twist on the book and I’m unsure how I feel about Owen. I did really appreciate the art in this book. Whoever the artist is their work is truly beautiful. I also found that the premise behind the art was really intriguing and I really liked the exploration of that and seeing the representation of the confessions to art.

In terms of the confessions I don’t know if I wanted the confessions to play a bigger or smaller role because the in between stage meant I wanted so much more but due to how it was being used left me sort of unsatisfied.  I think my problem was that I didn’t like how Auburn was tied into it. I didn’t appreciate how it started being used as a plot device and allowed her to be so childish and tried to seek attention.

It got really dark and really problematic after the first half and I wasn’t happy with how it was justified. There was just such a weird portrayal of the situation Auburn was in and although I can understand her struggle she just really caused herself so many problems. I just wished that she handled the situation differently. I understand her desperation but I just struggled to connect with this story.

I really hated the deservation and possessive nature throughout this. I think the more I write and think about this book the less I like it. In all honesty there’s not much to expect from Colleen Hoover’s books but it’s just a really easy quick read. I just remain uncomfortable with what topic areas Colleen Hoover covers as I don’t know what experience she has with it or the research done in regard to it. I think that’s the most problematic art of her work rather than the stories themselves.

I am looking forward to the new book that should be released in October. I’ve been getting through quite a lot of her books but my favourite still remain as Slammed and Hopeless.


That’s all folks!

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

Leave a Reply

