Top Ten Tuesday – 30th May

Turns out it has been a very long time since I’ve done a Top Ten Tuesday. I had no clue that it was quite so long ago.

Today is Top Ten Tuesday – A weekly bookish list created by The Broke and the Bookish!  This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Most Anticipated Books For The Second Half of 2017 (These are all UK release dates)

Because you Love to Hate Me Anthology – 13th July Amazon / WH Smith / GoodReads

Leave it to the heroes to save the world–villains just want to rule the world.

In this unique YA anthology, thirteen acclaimed, bestselling authors team up with thirteen influential BookTubers to reimagine fairy tales from the oft-misunderstood villains’ points of view.

These fractured, unconventional spins on classics like “Medusa,” Sherlock Holmes, and “Jack and the Beanstalk” provide a behind-the-curtain look at villains’ acts of vengeance, defiance, and rage–and the pain, heartbreak, and sorrow that spurned them on. No fairy tale will ever seem quite the same again!

I will admit that the reason I want to read this is simply the about of hype around it. It seems like a fun concept but the mix between Booktubers and authors makes it a unique concept.

Wonder Woman by Leigh Bardugo – 29th August Amazon / WH Smith / GoodReads

She will become one of the world’s greatest heroes: WONDER WOMAN. But first she is Diana, Princess of the Amazons. And her fight is just beginning. . . .

Diana longs to prove herself to her legendary warrior sisters. But when the opportunity finally comes, she throws away her chance at glory and breaks Amazon law—risking exile—to save a mere mortal. Even worse, Alia Keralis is no ordinary girl and with this single brave act, Diana may have doomed the world.

Alia just wanted to escape her overprotective brother with a semester at sea. She doesn’t know she is being hunted. When a bomb detonates aboard her ship, Alia is rescued by a mysterious girl of extraordinary strength and forced to confront a horrible truth: Alia is a Warbringer—a direct descendant of the infamous Helen of Troy, fated to bring about an age of bloodshed and misery.

Together, Diana and Alia will face an army of enemies—mortal and divine—determined to either destroy or possess the Warbringer. If they have any hope of saving both their worlds, they will have to stand side by side against the tide of war.

I am a massive comic book fan; not necessarily Wonder Woman and I am really unsure about this idea. There’s meant to be 4 of the DC Icons novels and I know of 3 of the authors. I just don’t know how I feel about non-comic authors entering this world. I need to try it out because I don’t think I can be a comic fan without doing so.

Tower of Dawn by Sarah J. Maas – 5th September Amazon / WH Smith / GoodReads

Book 6 To the Throne of Glass Series

It’s another Throne of Glass book before Sarah J. Maas finally writes a concluding book. I am really sad that the series isn’t finishing this year and I’ll actually have to read The Assassin’s Blade because that’s now become the most important book in this whole series apparently.

Godsgrave by Jay Kristoff – 7th September Amazon / WH Smith / GoodReads

Book 2 To the Nevernight Chronicle

After the rocky start with Nevernight I did come to really enjoy it. I really don’t know where the story is going and it sort of has the same problem as The Crown’s Fate by Evelyn Skye.

Warcross by Marie Lu – 12th September Amazon / GoodReads

I have read her Legend series and have some mixed feelings. I am planning on reading the Young Elites soon.

Invictus by Ryan Graudin – 21st September Amazon / WH Smith / GoodReads

I’ll be reading Wolf by Wolf next month and there’s just so much positivity around Graudin’s work that the premise of this sounds really different from his other work.

The Ship of the Dead by Rick Riordan – 3rd October Amazon / GoodReads

Book 3 to The Gods of Asgard 

I don’t know why I’ve read this but not the Apollo series. I made it to the third book so I should finish it.

Renegades by Marissa Meyer – 7th November Amazon / GoodReads

So after the massive disappointment of Heartless I am so apprehensive to pick this up. Problem is the Lunar Chronicles is one of my favourite series of all time. This may be the deciding book for me.

Artemis by Andy Weir – 14th November  Amazon / WH Smith / GoodReads

THIS IS A THING!!!!! ANDY WEIR IS WRITTING ANOTHER FULL LENGTH NOVEL! This is now my most antiicipate book. The Martian is possibly my favourite book of all time. I love Weir’s writing and humour and although it’s not a premise I was as excited for I can’t deny my excitement for this book.

Whichwood by Tahereh Mafi – 14th November  Amazon / GoodReads

I’ve still never read a Tahereh Mafi book and every time she puts one out I tell myself I’ll read it so perhaps this is the book…..?


So that is the most involved post I think I’ve ever done. Let me know what you guys think. Also, are people ok with the UK focus?

That’s all folks!

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

One comment

Leave a Reply

