Pretty Little Liars by Sara Shepard (Pretty Little Liars #1)

pretty little liars

Three years ago, Alison disappeared after a slumber party, not to be seen since. Her friends at the elite Pennsylvania school mourned her, but they also breathed secret sighs of relief. Each of them guarded a secret that only Alison had known. Now they have other dirty little secrets, secrets that could sink them in their gossip-hungry world. When each of them begins receiving anonymous emails and text messages, panic sets in. Are they being betrayed by some one in their circle? Worse yet: Is Alison back? A strong launch for a suspenseful series.

1st October 2006

286 pages

Try It – 3 stars

Read from 1st to 5th May

So I’m writing this while waiting on an email to tell me where my first work placement will be. I’m super nervous, I know one girl who has hers and my wee heart is racing which isn’t good considering my health issues. (Going to Warton, which is near Preston, super happy and excited!)

This was a really good guilty pleasure read. It’s like a really over the top and gossipy. It just so hard to put it down with all the drama going on. I was surprised with so many perspectives but the mystery aspect is just so addicting. In all honesty I don’t really like any of the characters except maybe Aria and Emily. Out of them all the two of them don’t seem too bad.

I have only heard about this because of the show and I think I’ve only seen the first episode. Usually if I was going to watch something along these lines then I would watch Gossip Girl. However, I think I would have preferred this when I was a bit younger, also American teens just feel so young to me. I have been having this a lot lately in the contemporary scene. Thinking about the fact that I am graduating before I could legally drink in America is just such a strange thing to me.

So many books are based in America and unfortunately the ages just feels so different to that of British teens and the things I was doing at their age. The thing is these girls are what 16/17 but some of them feel so much younger that it’s really hard to connect with.

My main problem is that in reading contemporaries it has to be YA because adult are just so boring and they’re dealing with things out with my experience. However, I have recently picked up a NA by Colleen Hoover and loved that so maybe I’m moving away from these kinds of books.

Ok, returning from my tangent. I did enjoy this book but the plot and story are pretty thin. It feels like a more introductory book to the characters but with how short these books are I don’t see why the author wouldn’t put 2 or even 3 of them together to make things feel that much fuller. If I see the sequel then I will pick it up but I’m not rushing to get to it.


That’s all folks!

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

Leave a Reply

