Hopeless by Colleen Hoover (Hopeless #1)

hopelessSometimes discovering the truth can leave you more hopeless than believing the lies…

That’s what seventeen-year-old Sky realizes after she meets Dean Holder. A guy with a reputation that rivals her own and an uncanny ability to invoke feelings in her she’s never had before. He terrifies her and captivates her all in the span of just one encounter, and something about the way he makes her feel sparks buried memories from a past that she wishes could just stay buried.

Sky struggles to keep him at a distance knowing he’s nothing but trouble, but Holder insists on learning everything about her. After finally caving to his unwavering pursuit, Sky soon finds that Holder isn’t at all who he’s been claiming to be. When the secrets he’s been keeping are finally revealed, every single facet of Sky’s life will change forever.

Published 17th December 2012

410 pages

Rating: Skip It, 2.5 stars

Read from 25th to 27th March

So I’m planning on making this really short because I often find it hard to write reviews about Colleen Hoover books because I just tend to pick them up as a bridge books and they don’t really stick with me.

So going into this I had just finished Outlander which was huge and took me a really long time, so I wanted something short, and it takes me no time at all to read these books. I just wanted a simple romance contemporary and for the most part that was what I got and then we just jumped off the deep-end into some really deep and serious water.

I enjoyed the writing, it’s simple and sweet, and the characters are pretty good. The one thing about her books that I’ve found from the few that I’ve read is that the side characters are way better than the main characters. They’re just spunky and have such big and great personalities.  The problem is they overshadow the main characters and I feel that it’s hard to connect with them.

So I liked Sky, she was sort of average but due to circumstances this made her unique. And Holder was just a plain, weird, got a bit of a temper, misunderstood bad boy. I did enjoy their budding relationship but then it just went to place that I’m not comfortable with.

The one thing I’ll say about Colleen Hoover’s books is that they are problematic but if you can put it past then they’re a fine read. I’m not really reading this to be inspired or to gain more insight; it’s just a simple pain bridge book for me.

I do sort of hate the way the ending went because all of these revelations started coming it and it was just so rushed that I couldn’t understand why the author suddenly decided to do this. For me it felt like she ran out of ideas and decided this was what was going to happen. I think this because if not then why did it suddenly feel so rushed and just forced in there. I will state that I don’t read synopsis of books very often. I sort of go by word of mouth. The only time I’ll read a blurb is when I’m in the library just book hunting. So that’s maybe my problem.

Overall, this was fine but I still prefer Slammed more. Out of the books of her that I’ve read Slammed is definitely the one I would recommend.  I will not read Finding Hope but Finding Cinderella seems much more interesting because it follows Six and she was definitely the star of the show in Hopeless.


That’s all folks! Thanks for reading.

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Point of Retreat by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

