The Search for WondLa by Tony DiTerlizzi (The Search for WondLa #1)

the search for wondlaEva Nine is a curious and sensitive twelve-year-old who has existed only in a subterranean home called Sanctuary, cared for by a robot named Muthr. Eva’s great desire is to go aboveground, and her wish comes true, though not as she had imagined. On the surface, Eva goes in search of other humans–she has never met one–and soon meets both friend and foe.

Published 21st September 2010

484 pages

Rating – Should Read, 4.5 stars

Read from 10th to 12th March

So I think I read this book at the perfect time. I had just finished up reading the Name of the Wind and that was slow and really in depth and I wouldn’t say it was a difficult read, but it was time consuming.

I absolutely flew through this, mostly because I gave myself a full weekend off, which I have not done in so long!

So this is like an adventure mystery but its set in a really cool place and I really enjoyed the creatures and the world. The title is sort of the main theme around it and it has an answer as to what ‘WondLa’ means and I really enjoy it when books, stories, comics etc. do that. It just adds another layer to the story. And I am actually really happy with the answer which you don’t find out until the end of the book. It was such a smart and unique way of doing it.

So I did enjoy the characters and it seemed like a really nice group once it expanded. Everyone sort of complimented each other and it allowed you to get a better picture of the world and its history. I really liked how we got to see the ‘surface’ but I wished we got to see the city more and a bit more of the civilisation. I understand why there was less exploration because of the audience but I would have really liked just a bit more.

Although I really enjoyed it there isn’t much else I can say about it. It’s just a great book and I would recommend reading it.


Are there any other book similar to this out there?

That’s all folks!

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

2 comments

  1. OMG before I even read your review can I just say I remember reading this book and I have been trying to find it for forever so thank you. ** after reading your review** From what I remember of the book I agree with you. It was really imaginative and nice for a book aimed at a slightly younger audience. It must be pretty unique for it to have stuck in my head that much, I kind of want to know what actually happens in this world.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

