Starflight by Melissa Landers (Starflight #1)

starlight

Life in the outer realm is a lawless, dirty, hard existence, and Solara Brooks is hungry for it. Just out of the orphanage, she needs a fresh start in a place where nobody cares about the engine grease beneath her fingernails or the felony tattoos across her knuckles. She’s so desperate to reach the realm that she’s willing to indenture herself to Doran Spaulding, the rich and popular quarterback who made her life miserable all through high school, in exchange for passage aboard the spaceliner Zenith.

When a twist of fate lands them instead on the Banshee, a vessel of dubious repute, Doran learns he’s been framed on Earth for conspiracy. As he pursues a set of mysterious coordinates rumored to hold the key to clearing his name, he and Solara must get past their enmity to work together and evade those out for their arrest. Life on the Banshee may be tumultuous, but as Solara and Doran are forced to question everything they once believed about their world—and each other—the ship becomes home, and the eccentric crew family. But what Solara and Doran discover on the mysterious Planet X has the power to not only alter their lives, but the existence of everyone in the universe…

Published February 2nd 2016

369 pages

Rating: Try It – 3.75 stars 

Read from February 27th to March 2nd

So this is exactly the type of sci-fi I needed after the disappointment of Empress of a Thousand Skies. I read this as a buddy read with Rakel over on MiRakelBooks.

I’m not going to go around saying it was the best sci-fi ever and scream how everyone should read this but it was pretty good for a ya sci-fi.

I really liked the story and the plot was ok but I was just glad to be on a ship. The way it was set out really reminded me of Mass Effect which is one of my favourite video game series just without the aliens. I really liked the crew as a whole but it did take such a long time to get pretty much any character depth or development.

This feels like a book of three sections; first, there’s the escape from life, then we move to small side stories and missions, then we have the culmination of the plot. I don’t know how I feel about how the story was constructed but it was enjoyable overall.

The main thing that was missing from this was simply the world building. There’s so much travelling but no exploration, I think we have 2, maybe 3 occasions of shore leave and one totally doesn’t even count. I think that was something that Rakel and I both noted.

I enjoyed the characters and I think that’s the best part of this book. The sci-fi element was sort of there but it wasn’t to an inaccessible level and as someone who loves books such as the Martian then that is kind of always going to be a let-down with me. I did like the snippets we did get especially with Solara just like the way in Gemina’s climax I loved the nuts sci-fi that we got when other people didn’t.

So I’ll come back to the characters. It took such a long time to get any connection to them. All of the characters are flawed and I do like that but it took such a long time to get their backstory that I didn’t understand why the reader should be caring about them. I didn’t like Doran (stupid name, I hate the name, I want to say Daren or Dorian, what is this mix?!). I just think that the jump between his two personalities was too much that I couldn’t get behind them. Even the explanation for his abhorrent attitude wasn’t enough to redeem it for me.  Solara was fine, she was kind of hard to connect to and I just think there was a strength in herself that was missing to make her a full character. I did like the side crew; they brought something completely different to the table and the relationships that it was really fun to read with them. My only qualm was how similar Remmy and Kane were. Their personalities were meant to be so different but I just really struggled to distinguish the two, don’t know why.

Overall I would say to try this out. It’s a pretty good ya sci-fi but there are better out there and I would say it’s my first pick. I will read Starfall when I get the chance but I don’t know when that will be. It seems like a really different storyline and I’m interested to see how it goes. I am super glad I got to this because I’ve been interested since January 2016 when it was due to be released. Other books just got in the way and another reason why I love buddy reads.


Do you have any si-fi recommendations?

That’s all folks!

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

Leave a Reply

