Comic Book Monday #3 – East of West and Flash

This is going much better than I originally imagined. However, this week I did have a freak out about running out of comics to read……

East of West 2The second volume of the most exciting new book in the industry is here! We Are All One follows our cast around the fractured future-scape of America as we learn more about a world that’s rapidly coming to a end.

Issues 6-10

Published 9th April 2014

Rating – Should read, 4 stars

Read on 14th March

Flash 1

Struck by a bolt of lightning and doused in chemicals, Central City Police scientist Barry Allen was transformed into the fastest man alive. Tapping into the energy field called The Speed Force, he applies a tenacious sense of justice to protect an serve the world as The Flash!

The Fastest Man Alive returns to his own monthly series as part of the DC Comics—The New 52 event with the writer/artist team of Francis Manapul and Brian Buccellato. The Flash knows he can’t be everywhere at once, but he has seemingly met his match when he faces DC Comic’ hottest new Super Villain, Mob Rule, who really can be everywhere at once!

As Mob Rule wages a campaign of crime across Central City, including an electromagnetic blast that plunges the city into darkness, The Flash learns the the only way he can capture Mob Rule and save Central City is to learn how to make his brain function even faster than before—but as much as it helps him, it also comes with a steep price.

Issues 1-8

Publshed 20th August 2013

Rating – Must Read, 4.5 stars

Read on 17th March

So I’m glad to be continuing on with East of West because I am enjoying the really weird style and story. I can’t really tell if it’s more or less confusing but I’m so far in that it all seems good, there’s no expectations or confusion about what I am getting into. I did try reading the Manhattan Projects by the same author and it was so awful. I couldn’t even continue on with it, which is horribly disappointing.

So I love the Flash, he is one of my favourite DC characters. He’s actually what started my obsession with DC comics a few years back. I read his story just before new 52, out of dumb luck he was like a central point to the whole world getting a rewrite. I just love how interesting a premise and concept it is. I accept that it is maybe overpowered but in this one it sort of confronts that as well as ding a good explanation of explaining the speed force.

I picked up even more comics at the library today so long may this continue!


That’s all folks!

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

Comic Book Monday #1 – Batgirl:The Darkest Reflection

Comic Book Monday #2 – East of West and Saga

Leave a Reply

