Comic Book Monday #1 – Batgirl:The Darkest Reflection

For those of you that have been around a while you know my love for comics. You’ll also know my struggle for figuring out how to feature them on my blog. So I’ve come up with the idea of Comic Book Monday.Each Monday I want to read and review a comic. This way I have a way to encourage my reading of comics and can present them to others. These reviews will also be much shorter as there’s simply less I can talk about

This week I read Batgirl, I’ve read it in the past and remember enjoying it but don’t remember anything about the story itself.

batgirl 1.jpgThe nightmare-inducing brute known as Mirror is destroying the lives of Gotham City residents seemingly at random. Will Barbara be able to survive her explosive confrontation with this new villain, as well as facing dark secrets from her past?

Collecting: Batgirl 1-6

Published: 17th July 2012

144 pages

Rating: Should Read It – 4 stars

Read on 6th March

So I really enjoyed this. It has a a much deeper plot than most DC Comics and I really like Batgirl as an overall character. This is actually a pretty good introduction to Batgirl and Barbara Gordon. It gives you her backstory in flashbacks but is focusing on her future.

A brief background for those who don’t know. Barbara is son of Jim Gordon, a police detective and advocate of Batman. As such Barbara has a close connection to Bruce Wayne, and his adopted son/sidekick Dick (Richard) Grayson, an acrobat that grew up in a travelling circus who lost his parents. Barbara and Dick have a crush on each other. Later on, the Joker, Batman’s arch villain, who shoots her and Barbara is paralysed. As she grows older she wants to be involved in Batman’s life and become Oracle. Oracle is a super smart alter ego who looks out for batman and helps him out with research. A miracle, origin unknown, happens and Oracle can walk again, she then regains the Batgirl persona and wants to get back to her old life.

In this story we follow Barbara after she can walk again and is dealing with a survivors guild feeling. In this she must deal with these feeling and with other ‘villains’ that are experiencing a similar miracle. I enjoyed this because it dealt with the massive change to her life.

I would recommend this to anyone interested in DC Comics and is quite a good beginners starting point especially for those interesting in Barbara Gordon’s Batgirl.


So nice and short. I want to include the backstory to characters I know about to make it easier for people to get into these comics. I have a DC and Marvel encyclopedia so I may as well share some of the years of comic knowledge I have.

Thanks all folks!

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

Leave a Reply

