February Wrap Up

So this was an ok reading month for me especially when I ahve a lot going on. I managed to read a couple of big books so that’s a positive.

Traitor to the throne by Alwyn Hamilton (Rebel of the Sands #2) 570 pages Review

So I loved this, it was such a good sequel and I can’t believe the character and world growth that was a part of it. It had so many good twists and turns and I can’t wait for the finale next year.

A Natural History of Dragons by Marie Brennan (The Memoirs of Lady Trent #1) 334 pages

I originally picked this up for the cover because it’s stunning and then when i read the synopsis it felt like a non-fiction where dragons exist and our main character wants to study them. It feels like a reflection of the Victorian era where explorers went out to learn about natural history and discover the world but set in a parallel universe.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff (The Nevernight Chronicle #1) 580 pages

Oh man was this hard, I got about a quarter of the way through and was all ready for giving up until my book buddies told me that I had to keep going because it got so much better. And they were right. After we actually get to the assassin’s school things actually become interesting and good but it has a lot of problems for me. I will continue on in the series but I would not recommend it to anyone in all honesty.

Flying Lessons & Other Stories edited by Ellen Oh 240 pages

I’m not normally one for anthologies and I don’t know what made me pick this up but I did enjoy it and hope to give more time to anthologies in the future as it really broke my readin up. That being said, I did fly through it. My only issue is that for a diverse book it was pretty much primarily base on race diversity and I would have liked a little bit more variety.

The Tropic of Serprents by Marie Brennan (The Memoirs of Lady Trent #2) 331 pages

This follows Isabella again into her discovery of dragons but where she is like a lead explorer and all the struggles she has to face. This had a lot of politics in it as well as a great deal more cultural struggle but also community integration. Learning about the different races and communities and way of life is my favourite part of these books apart from the dragons.

Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys 391 pages

So I loved this, it is an incredible and beautiful portrayal of an unknown tragedy. I absolutely flew through this because I didn’t want to put it down. This is a must read for everyone because it is a beautiful story that will educate you and although the characters aren’t real people you will feel a kinship to them and their plight.

Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza (Empress of a Thousand Skies #1) 320 pages

I won’t lie, this was kind of a disappointment. I was so looking forward to it because it sounded so interesting and like a lot of cool and original things could go on. However, although the ideas were great the execution really let it down. It was like a mix of Illuminae and The Lunar Chronicles but not as good as either. I will give it some leeway due to it being a debut and will pick up the sequel to see how the author develops. I want this to be good because it has so much potential to be an incredible story. I would hold off on this to see how the sequel turns out before picking up this series.

This Months Recommended Read

salt-to-the-sea

My Favourite Read of the Month

traitor-to-the-trone


If you have a Wrap Up leave a link in the comments down below and I’d love to check it out.

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

2 comments

Leave a Reply

