Equal Rites by Terry Pratchett (Discworld #3/ Witches #1)

equal-ritesOn Discworld, a dying wizard tries to pass on his powers to an eighth son of an eighth son, who is just at that moment being born. The fact that the son is actually a daughter is discovered just a little too late. The town witch insists on turning the baby into a perfectly normal witch, thus mending the magical damage of the wizard’s mistake. But now the young girl will be forced to penetrate the inner sanctum of the Unseen University–and attempt to save the world with one well-placed kick in some enchanted shins! Reissue.

285 pages

Published 1987

Try It – 3 stars

Read from 18th to 28th January (I took a bit of a break)

So I have been enjoying this series and been waiting to get to the Witches story, which I was informed was the best part probably. I was disappointed. Out of the three books I’ve read this was my least favourite.

I found it to be quite boring and confusing. I struggled to understand what was going on and why. I really am struggling without chapter breaks. I found the first book much easier because it was still fairly continuous but those four separations really helped me. I also preferred Rincewind’s second story to the first because it got the introduction and scene setting out of the way so I may find that I prefer book six and enjoy the witches.

So I did like that it was introducing Witches as an alternative to Wizards and the magical differences between them. However, it did it in quite a difficult way. I think the magic system and world are so unique that flinging the comparison between the two in by trying to create a female Wizard really threw me off. This may just be down to my lack of experience in the Adult Fantasy world; however, I have never struggled with any other adult books I’ve read.

I didn’t really enjoy or connect to any of the characters and that’s often the hardest thing about reading a book where that is the case for me. I didn’t really find the story enjoyable. It seemed like an interesting premise but I wasn’t really enjoying the way in which it was carried out. I really wanted to like this book but it was just fairly average for me. I want to continue on in the series but I think I’ll take a break for a while.

I apologise for this being so short but there isn’t much I can’t hate or gush over so it makes it hard to write a lot about it.


Did anyone else feel the same?

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

Leave a Reply

