The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemisin (Inheritance #1)

a-hundred-thousand-kingdomsYeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky. There, to her shock, Yeine is named an heiress to the king. But the throne of the Hundred Thousand Kingdoms is not easily won, and Yeine is thrust into a vicious power struggle.

Pages: 427 

Published: 25th February 2010

Rating: Should Read, 4.5 stars

Read from 1st to 3rd January

So this was a reread for me but it was five years ago and didn’t really remember much. I remembered two of the main characters but that was it. But I really love this book because it is just written in a way that is perfect to my reading style. I have thought about this book constantly since I first picked it up and I always seen the cover and I still remember the shelf I picked it up on in the library.

Sidetrack: I was a massive library kid and I had got to the stage where I had read all of their YA and had moved to ordering books. The library card only allows you to take out your age group and I was 15 and the library staff could tell I had reached the end of my reading pool and asked me if I wanted my library card upgraded to an adult. This came with being able to take out adult books but also moved my check out limit from 6 to 12 which was really important to me because I flew through books. I also loved reading comics and this was a big reason for wanting more check out state as graphic novels just don’t want as long as novels. There was one librarian that used to laugh at my comic love and I told her that I read a lot of books so sometimes I need a break. Her response was great because she just sighed telling me how true that was. The thing is she was the one that had to deal with all the requests and sorting including my very large pile.

The story seems relatively simple but the main focus of the book is the world, characters, and the Gods/monsters/weapons – whatever you want to call them. It was quite a contained setting which I think was important to explain the complexity of the world. You did get a grasp on the size and control through the nobels meetings. These contained the territories and the level or representation was also pretty awesome. It seems like a diverse world but as Yeine is stuck in an Amn and singular race atmosphere it could be concerning. However, the author decided to have mixed races so that this then allowed the reader to see the physical traits of some of the other races without having to go into those territories and again opened up the sheer size of this world.

The lore and the past is pretty fleshed out for the first books but more in that it talks about the key past historical events and it was done in a really interesting way and I really enjoyed it. The idea of the Gods was quite unique to anything else I have read. I don’t know if it comes from any folk lore but it was so captivating to read.

I really liked the characters in this as well, they all had their own personalities and voices and everyone felt very distinct from each other. I also liked the way that they were written because it used very emotive language to show Yeine’s feelings toward everyone she encountered. This is such a great way to make the reader bond or remove themselves from the characters the author wants. For Yeine my feelings are a little mixed. She is a strong female lead but is constantly compared to her mother and it is main clear that she is not a strong but that might be a good thing because her mother seems like a very cruel woman. It was really hard to journey with Yeine and her grief she feels about losing her mother as well as her learning about who she was before leaving Sky. Yeine goes through a massive culture shock and this is really at the forefront of everything that she does. This is something relatable but it does become quite annoying closer to the end because she puts herself and others into trouble and pain.

This book went in a really interesting way at the end. I was unsure how the series would continue on but I am really interested for the future books.      


I would recomend this to people but it does feel female focused and there is a bit of sexual content so read at your own risk.

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

Leave a Reply

