The Dark Days Pact by Alison Goodman (Lady Helen #2)

dark days club.png

London, April 1812. On the eve of eighteen-year-old Lady Helen Wrexhall’s presentation to the queen, one of her family’s housemaids disappears-and Helen is drawn into the shadows of Regency London. There, she meets Lord Carlston, one of the few who can stop the perpetrators: a cabal of demons infiltrating every level of society. Dare she ask for his help, when his reputation is almost as black as his lingering eyes? And will her intelligence and headstrong curiosity wind up leading them into a death trap?

Published Jan 26th 2016

482 pages

Should Read

Review

dark-days-pactJune 1812. Just weeks after her catastrophic coming-out ball, Lady Helen Wrexhall—now disowned by her uncle—is a full member of the demon-hunting Dark Days Club. Her mentor, Lord Carlston, has arranged for Helen to spend the summer season in Brighton so that he can train her new Reclaimer powers. However, the long-term effects of Carlston’s Reclaimer work have taken hold, and his sanity is beginning to slip. At the same time, Carlston’s Dark Days Club colleague and nemesis will stop at nothing to bring Helen over to his side—and the Duke of Selburn is determined to marry her. The stakes are even higher for Helen as she struggles to become the warrior that everyone expects her to be

500 pages

Published 26th Jan 2017

Must Read – 4.5 stars

Read from 24th to 28th January

So first off, if you enjoyed The Dark Days Club go and read this. It is one of the best sequels I have read and it’s a refreshing middle book in a trilogy because meaningful things actually happen rather than it feeling like filler for the finale.

So I’m really struggling to formulate my thoughts so if this seems a bit all over the place then I apologise, I’m just really quite excited. So this leads on pretty much immediately from the ending of the last book and takes place in Brighton and she really does an amazing job of recapping the last book but only when it becomes relevant. Sometimes books give it all at the beginning but in this is it only brought up when it suits the situation which is really up my street.

Helen has now had to face her Reclaimer duties and it doesn’t come naturally to her. Helen grows so much in this book as she has to deal with her new world and responsibilities. It takes her a long time to get over her predispositions but she does get there and has to understand the complexity of the situation she is in. She also builds friendships and builds people around her to act as a support making her situation more bearable. I like that she gained friends but they did bug me and it felt a little bit forced into the situation and I’m not sure I liked the personalities as much as the last cast.

Lord Carlson seems to take a backseat in this book and is replaced by Mr Hammond. Helena and Hammond are forced to work together and I actually really like their relationship and how they interact with one another.

My favourite thing in this was the story and the plot because it was the star of the show. This is one of the best and most carefully thought-out plots I’ve read in a while. The author brings together the feeling of anguish and struggle and manages to overcome these in a really amazing and interesting way. When reading this I honestly believed that the author was going to make us go through the unfavourable situations and we would just have to deal with these obstacles and to some extent we did. So much of this is dealing with uncomfortable situations and having to do things that go against the morals and beliefs of the characters and especially Helen.

So, this wasn’t perfect, I had some issues and for the most part it was how hypocritical a lot of it was and I just couldn’t understand how others did it and that was fine but then it wasn’t allowed by some. It just didn’t make sense to me and it wasn’t addressed by Helen so I can’t understand why it happened. I also had some trouble with the characters that were introduced because they were just idiots and I loved Selburn in the first book and hated him in this one. My ships and emotions are all over this place that I just don’t know what I’m meant to want anymore.

I also loved the ending to this and all the twists and turns it presented. I can’t believe I’m meant to wait a whole year for the next book.

I have to read Eon soon, I just do because I love this writing style so much.


If anyone has read this then I would love to have a conversation about it.

Instagram • GoodReads • Email

2 comments

Leave a Reply

