2017 Book Goals

So 2017 I will be leaving university for the big bad world. I’ve got a graduate job in something I love and I’m really looking forward to. I’m going to be 21, I’m growing up, I’m moving away from home, I’m moving country, and I decided since this is the year of new adventures that I want to change my reading as well.

So what does that actually mean?

In 2016 I read 70 books, give or take, and I struggled with my reading. Multiple times this year I didn’t know what I wanted to read. So I’ve decided that it’s time to get out of my comfort zone. For most people this means entering into diversity. For me, it means leaving YA. I’ve made the decision to try adult books because most of my favourite books and series have now become adult or at least new adult. I have loved fantasy since I was 5 years old and turned huge cardboard boxes into castles, I loved si-fi turning it into a spaceship. I’ve been a creative kid and reading is the most important thing that I could have found a love for.

My Dad has always read and he’s turned me onto some books and I’m going to try them. I also want to allow myself to love si-fi because (sorry ya) but there’s just so many rubbish young adult si-fi out there.

So, what am I going to do…..

  1. I will still read my bookclub books even though it’s mainly YA.
  2. I will continue reading YA series I have started and the authors I truely love and not ready to leave just yet.
  3. I will read adult fantasy and si-fi.
  4. Start a whole bunch of brand new series and not care about my unfinnished pile
  5. I will not be scared of huge series.

2016 was about finishing series and I think I’m going to DNF a lot of unfinnished series. I’m planning on doing a whole DNF post and series I want to start.

The complications of the books I plan on reading is that they are massive, we’re looking at some with 20+ main books never mind short stories and novellas. The other problem is that I probably won’t be able to read at the same rate as normally and my reviews may slow down but I’ll try and replace them with something else so I still post at least once a week.

Change is hard but this has been a long time coming and I hope you support me through it but if you’re not interested in my changes then I completely understand and hope you can consume the content that you want.

So, this is going to be an adventure and I look forward to your coming along for the ride.


Instagram • GoodReads • Email

7 comments

  1. I don’t see any problem with reading whatever books make you happy. I try not to define the genres, just reading books that look good. I love YA but I also do enjoy adult fantasy books too. I wish you luck in your endevour 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

