Magnus Chase and the Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan

sword-of-summerMagnus Chase has always been a troubled kid. Since his mother’s mysterious death, he’s lived alone on the streets of Boston, surviving by his wits, keeping one step ahead of the police and the truant officers.

One day, he’s tracked down by a man he’s never met—a man his mother claimed was dangerous. The man tells him an impossible secret: Magnus is the son of a Norse god.

The Viking myths are true. The gods of Asgard are preparing for war. Trolls, giants and worse monsters are stirring for doomsday. To prevent Ragnarok, Magnus must search the Nine Worlds for a weapon that has been lost for thousands of years.

When an attack by fire giants forces him to choose between his own safety and the lives of hundreds of innocents, Magnus makes a fatal decision.

Sometimes, the only way to start a new life is to die . . .

Published: October 6th 2015

Genre: Mythology

Pages: 499

Rating: Try It

Format: Physical

Read from November 12th to 17th

So…… I knew that I would enjoy this book because I really like Rick Riordan and his writing but I think I was expecting it to be too much like Percy Jackson and I was so wrong.

That did sort of hurt my enjoyment of the book at the beginning but as I realised just how different it was then it really grew on me. Magnus is such a different main character to Percy and the whole thing was in first person which was really fun as well. He’s incredibly sarcastic and has a lot of quips ad things to say. I really liked this change; it just fit the overall mood of the story better.

So I know very little about Norse Mythology so it was really hard to come around to the idea of it, It’s definitely not as strong as its Greek counterpart. The story was interesting because it had a quest element but everything did feel too easy and that the sword would just fix things.

I think my biggest issue was the ‘team’, I really didn’t connect with characters. They were important but there just wasn’t enough and that was a really big disappointment because I really have loved the past characters and they are what made it so interesting and fun.

I honestly found that this was a good book but it’s just not memorable and for that reason there’s not much else I can say about it.

Leave a Reply

