The Sun Is Also a Star by Nicola Yoon

Yoon_9780553496680_jkt_all_r1.indd

Natasha: I’m a girl who believes in science and facts. Not fate. Not destiny. Or dreams that will never come true. I’m definitely not the kind of girl who meets a cute boy on a crowded New York City street and falls in love with him. Not when my family is twelve hours away from being deported to Jamaica. Falling in love with him won’t be my story.

Daniel: I’ve always been the good son, the good student, living up to my parents’ high expectations. Never the poet. Or the dreamer. But when I see her, I forget about all that. Something about Natasha makes me think that fate has something much more extraordinary in store—for both of us.

The Universe: Every moment in our lives has brought us to this single moment. A million futures lie before us. Which one will come true?

Published: 1st November 2016

Genre: Contemporary

Pages: 384

Rating: Must Read

Format: Physical (I know, it’s not an ebook surprisingly!)

Read from 4th to 6th November

Oh this heart breakingly beautiful book.

I can’t believe this book was basically just the story of one day in the life of Natasha and Daniel. I really loved their perspectives and how they interacted with each other.

This is an incredibly lovely story that tries to fly in the face of science and love and bring together two polar opposites in an unlikely scenario. I read this book in two days so it did feel like I consumed the story in a similar amount of time to it happening. It made me incredibly emotional because, even though it is not realistic, it tells a story that has a lot of truthful emotion and a reflection on the reality of expectation and the confrontation on your parents not being superheroes of the perfect role models. It also shows the difference between parents and children and the ideals they hold in accordance to their cultures and upbringing. It does have an emphasis on immigrants and a Jamaican-American and Korean-American family but I believe that you can relate to these characters and the struggles they face.

I liked the characters but it was hard to develop them because this was done over the course of the day but Yoon did do a good job of trying to get you to know the characters by having a list of “questions to fall in love”. This did give you a better insight into the two main characters as well as the first person perspective jumping between the two of them. It was fun to read about but I think it was hard to connect deeply to the story due to the unrealistic nature of the story but with it being such a difficult topic area this was a good way of confronting those issues towards a wider audience. I do like that the author chose characters that she could relate to and at times it did feel like it could be possibly a reflection of her life and her experiences. I read her bio on her website after reading the book and I can see how she relates to Natasha because of the way that Yoon wrote this and Natasha’s speech pattern.

The only part of the book that I was unsure about was the extra entries, either from a background stand point or the side characters. I did get a bit confused at the beginning but it did come around on itself. It added to the story but it did feel very out of place at the beginning. I like that it displayed that you never know what other people are going through or that you didn’t understand history and how it got to the current day.

Everything in this story is connected. And I mean everything. Nothing is in this story if it is not connected by the end. I wish I had known that going in because it just started feeling so pointless and I wouldn’t have given this a must read but upon reflection and seeing how the story came together at the end I reevaluated and this is definitely my favourite contemporary release in 2016 that I’ve read but if just a little bit below Fangirl for my favourite contemporary that I’ve read in 2016.

People should read this book. It’s a great insight into the topic of immigration and what it means to be a dreamer and what dictates your affiliation to a country and in fact what a ‘home’ actually is.

I also did a review of Everything, Everything if you want to check it out here.


text2026289636[twitter-follow screen_name=’rinereads’

Leave a Reply

