Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J.K. Rowling

phiolosephers-stone

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy – until he is rescued by an owl, taken to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, learns to play Quidditch and does battle in a deadly duel. The Reason … HARRY POTTER IS A WIZARD!

Published: June 26th 1997

Pages: 320

Rating: Should Read It

 

 

chamber-of-secrets

The Dursleys were so mean and hideous that summer that all Harry Potter wanted was to get back to the Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he’s packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.

And strike it does. For in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockhart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls’ bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley’s younger sister, Ginny. But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone, or something, starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects: Harry Potter himself?

Published: July 2nd 1998

Pages: 352

Rating: Must Read It

Review

prisoner-of-azkaban

Harry Potter is lucky to reach the age of thirteen, since he has already survived the murderous attacks of the feared Dark Lord on more than one occasion. But his hopes for a quiet term concentrating on Quidditch are dashed when a maniacal mass-murderer escapes from Azkaban, pursued by the soul-sucking Dementors who guard the prison. It’s assumed that Hogwarts is the safest place for Harry to be. But is it a coincidence that he can feel eyes watching him in the dark, and should he be taking Professor Trelawney’s ghoulish predictions seriously?

Published: July 8th 1999

Pages: 435

Rating: Must Read It

Review

goblet-of-fireHarry Potter is midway through both his training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron, and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Chang, his crush (and maybe do more than dream). He wants to find out about the mysterious event that supposed to take place at Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn’t happened for hundreds of years. He wants to be a normal, fourteen-year-old wizard. But unfortunately for Harry Potter, he’s not normal – even by wizarding standards.
And in his case, different can be deadly.

Published: July 8th 2000

Pages: 734

Rating: Must Read It


Finally on to The Order of the Phoenix

 

 

order-of-the-phoenix

Harry Potter is due to start his fifth year at Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry. His best friends Ron and Hermione have been very secretive all summer and he is desperate to get back to school and find out what has been going on. However, what Harry discovers is far more devastating than he could ever have expected…

Suspense, secrets and thrilling action from the pen of J.K. Rowling ensure an electrifying adventure that is impossible to put down

Published: 21st June 2003

Genre: Fantasy, Magical School

Pages: 870

Rating: Should Read It (I could imagine people falling off before this point)

Format: Ebook and Audiobook (I had to switch between because it’s just so long!)

Read from 16th to 22nd October

So overall this book was good but it is so long!!!!! I was at about page 700 and then there’s a scene (more like a whole chapter) and something happening that causes it to be extended. Like no, this book doesn’t need to be this long.

So that half of the book is Harry feeling ‘woe is me’ and everything is just not going his way and he’s angry at the world. I get it but it’s still not pleasant to be stuck inside his head and being forced to listen to the idiot. Like, seriously a lot of characterisation just went up the wall in this book for me. Things were convenient and then not and then were again. There were just some sections where things just didn’t feel right for me. I actually had to put the book down, walk into the bedroom and have a 30 min rant with my boyfriend because it wound me up so much.

Now I liked the end of the book and it sort of redeemed the story for me and The Order of the Phoenix is the cool idea that I like but I’m just not sure how well it was done for me. Now J.K. Rowling is a great author but during this some things just seemed a bit lost to me and that sort of ruined my enjoyment of the story. There were so many relationships and stories going on that would happen all at once and then not brought up till two to three hundred pages later. Some stuff just felt so pointless and I just couldn’t get on board.

Now onto my major point of hatred with the book – Umbridge – now that’s a flawed character if I’ve seen one. First off, I do not like the abuse of children, I just flat out don’t agree with it and I flat out don’t think it was dealt with properly especially how she receives absolutely no punishment for it and how she continued on throughout the story. The fact that other teachers didn’t notice and do anything was kind of ridiculous and I just don’t agree with this way to create the character. Moving onto the other thing I didn’t like about her character was that she was meant to be a rule follower and she wasn’t at all in all honesty, she just abused power and I think that should have been the focus rather than her just trying to follow rules. She was used as such a plot device to create hurdles to jump through for the characters and it was just boring and dragged on. She also took an important thing away from Harry but the reader still got to be part of it. Like if Harry is our first person perspective then surely not giving the reader access to the thing so important to him creates an animosity toward the other character. I think it’s just me being a bit mental but she is now my most hated character of all time. I’ll take Voldemort any day of the week because at least people stand up to him and do things about it!

Also I do not agree that Malfoy is a villain, he’s just too thin a character and he gets worse with each book. He’s not for me.

I am glad however that this book feels a bit more like the proper starting point with Voldemort. My memory is really hazy about this book and the next. Like I can’t remember anything in the Half Blood Prince except a death I think.  So I am looking forward to the future books.

Now I like Snape because I know the Snape stuff but he wavers for me. Sometimes I’m with him and other times I’m confused. I keep thinking about the book and there’s just so much too it that it’s really hard to remember.


text2026289636

2 comments

Leave a Reply

