October Wrap Up

So this has been a successful month for me in all honesty. I’ve read some reasonably big books and quite a few which is good considering how busy I’ve been.

 

 

Grief is the Thing With Feathers by Max Porter Review

This is actually a pretty cool poetry book but feels like it’s aso in the style of a play as it mixes between three voices. It is nice for something different if you want to pick it up and try it then you can as it’s really short.

Swarm by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, and Deborah Biancotti Review

Oh this feels like I read it so long ago but I loved this book. If you’ve read Zeroes then this is a must read. It builds on the world and the powers and makes it a much more full and fleshed out world. There is also an actual villain in this book which is good because the last book was more dealing with a situation. I’m really looking forward to the next book because there is a HUGE cliffhanger.

And I Darken by Kiersten White Review

I didn’t really know what to expect going into this but it focuses on her younger life which is really interesting but I think it should be known before you go into the story. I also love how the author makes it seem like such a large cast of characters but keeps it manageable bu letting them leave and then reintroducing them.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire Review

So this was a nightmare of a book for me. It felt like two books especially since I read the first 25-30% in June and gave up right before we got to Hogwarts because all I wanted was to be back at Hogwarts. Then the rest flew by and I loved it.

Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (Review 6th November)

I liked this book but it is such a long book that I alternated between reading it and the audio book. I think it is an interesting concept for a book but there were so many sections that I just found unnecessary. I also had a problem with some of the characterisation that happened. I have since started Half Blood Prince and it seems to be back in line with the books prior to this which I am enjoying.

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff (Review 13th November)

I loved this book. It is incredible and it is such an amazing sequel. It builds on the other side of the story of Illuminae and it took a while to get used to the new characters but they were done really well and you really started to connect to them. There is a lot of si-fi happening in this book with some abstract concepts but I really enjoyed that. The plot twist were build around the si-fi which makes it incredible.


I’m not doing a Novemeber TBR, if you want to know what I’ll be planning on reading till the end of the year you can check out My end of year TBR

Leave a Reply

