Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

phiolosephers-stone

Harry Potter thinks he is an ordinary boy – until he is rescued by an owl, taken to Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, learns to play Quidditch and does battle in a deadly duel. The Reason … HARRY POTTER IS A WIZARD!

Published: June 26th 1997

Pages: 320

Rating: Should Read It

 

 

chamber-of-secrets

The Dursleys were so mean and hideous that summer that all Harry Potter wanted was to get back to the Hogwarts School for Witchcraft and Wizardry. But just as he’s packing his bags, Harry receives a warning from a strange, impish creature named Dobby who says that if Harry Potter returns to Hogwarts, disaster will strike.

And strike it does. For in Harry’s second year at Hogwarts, fresh torments and horrors arise, including an outrageously stuck-up new professor, Gilderoy Lockhart, a spirit named Moaning Myrtle who haunts the girls’ bathroom, and the unwanted attentions of Ron Weasley’s younger sister, Ginny. But each of these seem minor annoyances when the real trouble begins, and someone, or something, starts turning Hogwarts students to stone. Could it be Draco Malfoy, a more poisonous rival than ever? Could it possibly be Hagrid, whose mysterious past is finally told? Or could it be the one everyone at Hogwarts most suspects: Harry Potter himself?

Published: July 2nd 1998

Pages: 352

Rating: Must Read It

Review

prisoner-of-azkaban

Harry Potter is lucky to reach the age of thirteen, since he has already survived the murderous attacks of the feared Dark Lord on more than one occasion. But his hopes for a quiet term concentrating on Quidditch are dashed when a maniacal mass-murderer escapes from Azkaban, pursued by the soul-sucking Dementors who guard the prison. It’s assumed that Hogwarts is the safest place for Harry to be. But is it a coincidence that he can feel eyes watching him in the dark, and should he be taking Professor Trelawney’s ghoulish predictions seriously?

Published: July 8th 1999

Pages: 435

Rating: Must Read It

Review


 

So moving onto Goblet of Fire

goblet-of-fireHarry Potter is midway through both his training as a wizard and his coming of age. Harry wants to get away from the pernicious Dursleys and go to the International Quidditch Cup with Hermione, Ron, and the Weasleys. He wants to dream about Cho Chang, his crush (and maybe do more than dream). He wants to find out about the mysterious event that supposed to take place at Hogwarts this year, an event involving two other rival schools of magic, and a competition that hasn’t happened for hundreds of years. He wants to be a normal, fourteen-year-old wizard. But unfortunately for Harry Potter, he’s not normal – even by wizarding standards.
And in his case, different can be deadly.

Published: July 8th 2000

Genre: Fantasy, Magical School

Pages: 734

Rating: Must Read It

Format: Ebook

Read from June 23rd to October 14th (yeah I know…..)

So at the beginning of the year I wanted to read a Harry Potter Book a month and finish the series in a year but I got to this book and hated it so gave up. Then loads of books were coming out and Harry Potter was no more.

Now, calm down, I didn’t hate this book, I just really didn’t enjoy the first quarter. Like the whole tournament was interesting but it just was too much and went on too long that it no longer felt like Harry Potter. I do agree that it was important to the story later on but not important enough to be such a long segment.

Turns out I stopped this book right before I got to Hogwarts so when I went back to it I was straight into Hogwarts which is my favourite section because things actually happen! I loved it so much, the story was so rich and there was a real development of characters between Hermione, Ron and Harry. There was also plenty of world building and history brought in with the introduction of other schools and characters. I am a little disappointed that we didn’t get to find out much about the other schools ad magic and I think that would actually be a pretty cool spin off idea (is there any fan fiction out there of that?).

I really love that things have picked up but I’m struggling to relate to Harry’s Age because he’s now at the awkward stage but I think it was harder because I wanted to imagine him older than he was I think. I did really enjoy this book and the element of the game and trials but it annoyed me how much of it was Harry figuring things out the night before…. Like, it was kind of stupid.

I enjoyed the different layers and plot points that ran throughout the story. It really didn’t feel like that long of a book and it made me really want to continue on with the series and keep reading it. How everything came together was what made me love this book so much. I do love how things all have a purpose and that everything tends to get revealed at the end but also a cliff-hanger for the next book.

I always struggle to write a lot about books I enjoy and this is probably my favourite in the series as long as I ignore the beginning portion.


text2026289636

Leave a Reply

