September Wrap Up and October TBR

This was a terrible reading month for me, it didn’t start out great, I kept picking up books and didn’t find anything I wanted to read. Then Empire of the Storms came out and then I hated that. So I kept picking up books that I didn’t enjoy. Then The Crown’s Game was good but took em forever to read and since then I’ve been picking up books unsure of what to read. Swarm came out so hopefully that will get me back into the spirit.

Surprisingly enough I reached my Good Reads challenge of 52 books this month (I don’t include comics.

This month I did also read a lot of comics and I think that’s what has kept em sane.

I also started back at university and I’ve read about a dozen academic papers so that’s also not helping me read.

Anyway, there’s my update about me, let’s move on shall we?

September Wrap Up

I’m just going to list the books I read ratehr than get into the detail about the comics.

Everything, Everything by Nicola Yoon

So this is quite an easy read and I did enjoy it, it was super quick to get through and the relationships and premise were really different and interesting to me. I’m looking forward to picking up Yoon’s new release.

Empire of Storms by Sarah J. Maas

I hated this book, nothing worked for me and I don’t quite see the benefit to the series, it was just a ridiculous amount of build up with little pay off to me. I will complete the series but in all honesty I don’t hold much hope for the last book. This actually really upset me because I read Queen of Shadows at the beginning of this year and absolutely adored it and for this to fall flat for me was a shame.

The Crown’s Game by Evelyn Skye

I really liked this book, it was different, interesting, had a unique take on magic, and was in a unique location. However, after reading this after EoS I had a sour taste in my mouth and I wanted this to refresh em but as of currently it hasn’t and I refuse to hold that against this book.

 

October TBR

I think I’m going to pick up some adult fantasy this month to try and enjoy that style of story telling, I don’t know how it will work out because there are also a few new releases that I’m excited for as well.

This TBR is constructed more as possible pick ups for me because I don’t think I can tie myself down with how my mood is right now.

Swarm by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan, and Deborah Biancotti

The Well of Ascension by Brandon Sanderson

A Torch Against the Night

These three are on the top of the pile but that may change but this is my goal and then below is whatever I decide I feel like but I would really like to get to Gemina as well.

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

The Black Prism by Brent Weeks

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson

Replica by Lauren Oliver


If you have any suggestions I would be really interested to hear them. Also I know I’ve got a lot of long books but it hasn’t been the size of the books I’ve been reading because I’ve only really read about 30-40 pages so the size doesn’t matter. I also would consider contemporary but I’ve been trying to put them up and all I want to read is fantasy so that’s been a struggle as well.

One comment

  1. I’m still a couple of books away from my Good Reads Challenge of 48 books this year. I think I’ll hit it next month.Hopefully. Hope you do get to your TBR, especially the Well of Ascension 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

