Top Ten Tuesday – Favourite Books That Aren’t Fantasy

Today is Top Ten Tuesday – A weekly bookish list created by The Broke and the Bookish!  This week’s topic is:

Top Ten Favourite Books that aren’t Fantasy

So if you’ve been around my blog then you’ll know I have quite an obsession with fantasy so I’ve decided to feature some other books…..

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell

fangirl

So when I picked this up I just wanted to continuously read it and didn’t want to stop. It has so many good elements that make it an engaging, interesting and funny story. I was really late to the band wagon but I am glad I picked it up.

Red Rising by Pierce Brown

red rising

So this is quite new to my favourites and before I started it I never really knew what it was about but I was hooked from the beginning. I really like the system and execution and all the elements really appeal to me.

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld

zeroes

I love this book and there isn’t enough interest in this book considering that it’s a super hero book. Unfortunately due to this book I’ve not been able to enjoy Scott Westerfeld’s previous work but I would highly recommend it apart from that.

 

Isla and the Happily Ever After

isla

So I did enjoy Anna and the French Kiss but there were a multitude of problems with it. Then Lola was kind of boring but Isla had no issues going on and was just a sweet get to know you romance with some payoffs from the prior books and it really just brought everything together.

 

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminae

This is my second favourite book of the year. It’s so interesting and different and the style was just so enjoyable and kept you engaged. I am really looking forward to Gemina to continue the story. 

All these things I’ve Done by Gabrielle Zevin

all these things i've done

I love this book and series and no one talks about it. It’s super interesting and quick and just a really good book that’s so different from everything else I read. This would probably be the book I recommend for under-hyped books.

The Martian by Andy Weir

martian

This is my favourite book I’ve read this year. Words cannot describe how much I love this book, how much I think about this book, and how heartbreaking it is that Andy Weir only has one published novel. I constantly want to reread this book and watch the film and just be one with Mark Watney. I constantly miss this book and it’s so rare that I actually feel that way.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Looking_for_Alaska_original_cover

A lot of people don’t love John Green and I get it but I think I read Looking for Alaska at the right time in my reading career and I reread it this year and I still love it. I think I enjoy it so much because I don’t saturate myself in contemporaries and this just works for me.

The Winner’s Curse by Marie Rutkoski

winners curse

I read this a year ago and really enjoyed it but I really didn’t like the second book and I’ve tried starting the third book quite a few times and I just can’t get into it. I read it before all the hype surrounding the series and then the hype destroyed it for me even though I had read it because peopel lvoe it way more than me and I just don’t get it. I do this this first book but I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to finish the series.

 

Legend by Marie Lu

legend

So…. where do I stand with this series. I love love love Legend but hate the other two. It just didn’t bond with the rest of the series for me but I think I still like this book but I don’t want to reread it in case that changes. Do you ever get that feeling?

 

 

 

 

 


So there you go! What do you think? Leave a comment down below and link up your Top Ten Tuesday.

6 comments

    • I prefer looking for Alaska. I know some people have problems with him but I think it’s just the way the story and writing is. It works for some but not others.

      Like

  1. Fangirl is soonish TBR for me. Very excited to get into it. I love Looking for Alaska too. I think it’s my second favorite John Green book. I’ve always found it odd that people have issues with John Green’s teen dialogue being unrealistic. I mean one: it’s fiction, two: it’s really not that over the top.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it just depends on the person and how they found their teenage life. I agree with you about it being fiction but I think when people read contemporary they expect to relate to some aspect. I do really like looking for Alaska ans I think that it’s unfair upon the criticism Alaska gets. I don’t know if you’ll understand the phrase as its a British thing but we would call it marmite: you either love it or hate it

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

