The Blood of Olympus by Rick Riordan

This will contain spoilers for all prior books in the series.

Series: This series is so much fun and well-constructed and amazing, and this isn’t news but it is so so good.

Book: This is my favourite in the series and I couldn’t put it down because so much was happening and there was such a good flow.

Brief Opinion 10/10

I wanted to give this book a 9/10 but I can’t give a reason for that….. It’s just good and flows so well and brings together a lot of elements from the previous books and that was the strongest element of this book. It was such a good ending and was really satisfying and enjoyable. I really couldn’t put this book down unlike the others because they seemed much slower.

Full Review

Characters

This was the completion of all the perspectives and characters grew and develoed abd I love them all now. The perspective of Nico was really enjoyable and I’m glad that we got to spend time in his head along with Reyna. She is such a badass character but you never got to see her inner strength in the prior books.

Romance

I’m really glad how everything worked out and I’m not going to spoil it but this is such a good and characteristic element of Rick Riordan’s stories.

Setting

Again, like the last book there are a lot of geographic locations going on and I love being out of the US.

Story

I think the thing that sped up the story were the two story arcs. Both were fast paced and really added to each other. Just as you were getting invested/bored in one arc the other took over. I know that sounds counterintuitive but sometimes it mixed between the two feelings. There was enough mystery and intrigue going on that you never felt like you knew exactly what was going to happen. I think this is the best book in the series by far because it brought all the elements from a longer series together.

Plot

So the main section is about Gaea but there are also a lot of other opposing forces that get interwoven throughout the story in a stereotypical Percy Jackson book. I’m happy how it advanced and how the prophecy worked out and the culmination.

Writing

It’s a really good fast paced Rick Riordan book. What more do you want me to say?

Villain

It’s Gaea and I don’t really want to spoil the cool parts.

End

I really liked the ending and I’m super excited for The Hidden Oracle. I think it summer up everything so well and just gave the characters a good ending.


Have you read this? What did you think?

Check out my reviews for:

The Mark of Athena

The House of Hades

Leave a Reply

