Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Series: This is another one where I’m surprised it was only seen as a stand-alone to begin with. I suppose I would have been fine with this ending knowing that there wouldn’t be any more but it certainly left it open for a sequel(s).

Book: I really enjoyed this from the get go. It was conversational and different and funny and was just the making of a good book.

Brief Opinion 9/10

I really loved this. It was a whirlwind of emotions but you really got sucked in and affected by what was happening. I loved the main characters and their interactions and personalities as well as the side characters we got to know. There is a lot of tragedy in this book and I never knew what was going to happen. I loved that there was a few dimensions and layers to this and it really grew as an overall story. If you’ve been putting it off then I would definitely recommend it. It is a bigger book but due to the formatting it only feels like 400-500 pages so I would expect that amount of time to read it.

Full Review

Characters

So our main character Kady and Ezra start off in quite a weird state of relationship but it is not the focal point of the story. They do start off quite distance and separate but they eventually grow to have some interaction and it becomes one of my favourite parts.

I also really enjoyed the side characters and their relationship that developed throughout the story. However, you don’t get much backstory to the characters but with so much going on I suspect it’s pretty hard to develop this but I hope there’s more in the future.

Romance

So this is a weird romance in that it’s about a couple that just broke up. I think it was reasonably well done but it does become quite the main topic later in the story.

Setting

So we are in space in a different time with space warships. It’s pretty darn cool even though there’s not much to space. The setting is not is not the main focus but it is certainly an integral part of the story.

Story

So there are a lot of things going on but it slowly develops making it easier to take. It’s like a si-fi mixed with a pandemic which just makes things extremely tense and uncertain. The best part is how it’s told as the format and is extremely unique.

Plot

Everything is so well thought out and linked together; it really expands to encompass more elements that make the story more intriguing. The basic synopsis of the plot doesn’t do this book justice. I would like to know a bit more about the underlying motives of everyone but I’m not sure how much we will really get in the next book.

Writing

The writing is amazing; it’s just so quick and witty and interesting. I like that the characters feel so different and you can tell their voice. Only once did I get a bit confused due to the style.

Villain

So the villain is a matter of perspective. There is much motive behind the overarching enemy and that goes into my plot thoughts. The book is more about survival but there’s certainly room for growth.

Goal

Spoilers

I’m really looking forward to the next book but this will certainly take some time to digest and get over.

Leave a Reply

