The Bronze Horseman by Paullina Simons

Series: I know this is a series but I’m not sure if I’m going to continue on.

Book: It’s good but it’s so out of my comfort zone and just so angsty and frustrating and I can see why it’s good but I don’t think it’s the best book for me.

Brief Opinion 6/10

I’m not going to do a full review because I don’t think there’s enough for me to write because it wasn’t bad and wasn’t amazing; it was just average. I like the different setting and the time period. But war is so so so awful and saddening. For me it just dragged the story and the romance. I don’t think it needed to be such a big book, the feelings were perpetual and it felt like a lot of repeating.

The beginning was slow to start with but promising. Then came a serious lull in the story that then picked up closer to the end.

I didn’t like many of the characters in this and my feelings toward them constantly changed. I just didn’t find myself connected to them positively. But the characters I hated I became obsessed with them dying; I just wanted everyone to die which is rather upsetting. I just wanted the frustration with people to end and the only way I could see that was killing them.

I wasn’t really into the romance until nearer the end but the controlling nature of so many of the characters throughout made it a pretty unpleasant read.

The writing was basic but with a lot of detail and wasn’t something I loved.

In all honesty I don’t think I will continue with the series because I just don’t feel the need to.

I did not like the ending; I don’t know why it was done that way. If I hadn’t read the blurb to the sequel then I wouldn’t have known what would have happened next. For me I think I can deal with this being a stand-alone.


Have any of you read The Bronze Horseman? Did you enjoy it and continue in the series?

Leave a Reply

