Top 5 Wednesday – Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

Top 5 Wednesday is a meme that was created by Gingerreadslainey, you can see all the topic that are decided on the Goodreads page if you want to get involved.

This weeks topic is:

Favourite Books Outside Your Comfort Zone

So I’m pretty guilty of not venturing too far out of my comfort zone and all the books I’ve read is the ones I’ve picked up on a whim usually from the library. But, come one, everyone liked the comfort zone right? It’s like being under your warm duvet on a cold winter mornign. But anyway here are sometimes I braced the cold…

Cherub by Robert Muchamore

the recruit

So, this turned into an awesome series I really love; it’s quite a boyish book in all honesty but it was interesting and well constructed and incredibly funny and just got me hooked and is the longest series I’ve ever read.

 

 

 

 

 

Birthright by Gabrielle Zevin

all these things i've done

Chocolate and coffee are illegal…. that’s weird, right? Yeah, so naturally I loved it hahaha but I originally thought it was a distopian and in a sense it is but it’s more a reflection of what people consider legal and illegal.

 

 

 

 

 

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson

final empire

So, I read a lot of fantasy but this was quite a detailed and in depth high fantasy that I was really struggling with to pick it up because it seemed really daughnting to me but I’m really glad I did and I hope I get to finishing the series soon.

Review

 

 

 

 

Finding Audrey by Sophie Konsella

Finding-Audrey-Cover-Jpeg

So this was fine but I don’t usually like abstract or books that are pretty doom and gloom but this wasn’t too bad but it just wan’t for me in all honesty.

Review

 

 

 

 

The Accident Season by Moiora Fowley-Doyle

accident season

This was so far out of my zone that I jumped planet and I’m afraid I didn’t really enjoy it. It was just weird and I didn’t quite get it or the elements in it. I know that there are a lot of people who liked it but I just couldn’t get behind it.

Review

 

 

 

 

So, there we go. Have you read any of these and what are some of your favourite books you’ve read that are outwith your comfort zone.

 

Leave a Reply

