June TBR

So for my June TBR I was allowing the Books Amino community pick my books and that’s what I would read and I thought it would be really interesting and go really well.

But, I’ve been reading less and feeling like I’m going into a slump and I’m going to give up. I love reading I’ve read pretty much continuously since I was 6/7 years old and that’s most of my life so I don’t want to destroy that because I’ve never had a slump. I really wanted to try this and do it but the idea was for the benefit of reading and at this moment it’s not working for me. I think I may consider it in the future.

I’m the type of person who sets out what they feel like reading and setting up a monthly TBR but with this I was asking people to decide against a variation of books and I was thinking about 15 or so books which I then all wanted to read and it just messed up a system that seemed to be working out well for me.

Let me know if you think if I should continue with this and maybe motivate me and if you would ever consider doing something like this?

6 comments

  1. Hey! Thats a great idea, but if it doesn’t seem to be working as well as you thought it would, maybe you could continue with creating your TBRs.. and just for a little variety may be add in a book or two that come as part of the recommendations..? Looking forward to your TBR for June! 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I think I either decided to go all in or not at all, but maybe doing a surprise book of the month would be interesting to read something that I would avoid picking up for a while. I tend not to read stand alones so it may encourage me to read some more. Thanks a lot, thats a really good idea

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I used to always finish books. No matter how bad the book was, I’d struggle through to the end. Even if I hated it, I’d finish it. I read some series where the books in the middle were really bad (thankfully the end books were an improvement).

    And then one day, I started a book (it was Demon Road by Derek Landy) and I hated it. Which was a shame, because the Skullduggery series is one of my favourite ever. But I set the book aside without finishing it, and I had this huge sense of freedom.

    Even if you live til your 100, and if you read every single day, all day, and you never even sleep or eat or wash – even then, you won’t read every book. You can’t read every book. So the ones that don’t do it for you, don’t waste your time on them.

    If you have a reading pattern that works, great. If you try another way to decide what to read and it doesn’t work, don’t force it.

    Final thought, as someone who is a bit older than you, slumps happen. I’m like you, I’ve always read. More than that, I’ve always wrote. Every single day for more than twenty years I wrote – and then I didn’t read or write for an entire year. If you do slump, don’t worry. Find other fun things – binge watch some Netflix. Study for your degree. Go walks. Whatever. The slump will end, and you’ll love books more than ever.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right, that’s such a good way of looking at it. I think I just want to preserve my reading in the way I’m comfortable. Books are meant to be loved and there’s no point turning them into a chore.

      Like

Leave a Reply

