Top Ten Tuesday – Ten Reasons I Love Fantasy

Today is Top Ten Tuesday – A weekly bookish list created by The Broke and the Bookish!  This week’s topic is:

Ten Reasons I Love Fantasy

1.       Magical systems

So the different types of magic you get from the fire breathing dragons to magic transformed through metals. I love the take on all the different versions and exploring how an author constructs it.

2.       World Building

This is probably my favourite part of fantasy, it gives you somewhere new to discover and get immersed into.

3.       Magical Creatures

So if you’ve read my blog you’ll know my fascination with creatures and how I want to create a bestiary and I love exploring more and more versions and everything that comes with concurring each and every one of them.

4.       Storytelling

The stories all tend to be pretty out of this world for the sheer fact that there are no restrictions but the ones that do it best use the fanatical elements but conduct them in a realistic manner that you just believe that it could happen.

5.       Plot

With so much going on it can be pretty easy to get lost but the main elements really bring it all together.

6.       Characters

When I say characters I particularly like the different possible races and species that exist how you grow to love them and their cultures and history.

7.       Protagonist

The main characters for the most part tend to be pretty amazing and strong and it is the best place to find kickass female characters and you tend to love the main characters and grow attached.

8.       Villain

So with all the magic the villains tend to be incredible evil and that makes them all the better and so easy to hate.

9.       Covers

Covers such as Mistborn and Lunar Chronicles and The Throne of Glass are just so beautify and fair enough it may be hit or miss but you’ve got to admit they can be stunning.

10.   Escape

So I read books for an escape and I struggle with contemporary and romance because they tend to be closer to home. But with fantasy you are completely removed and it’s far more appealing to me.

9 comments

  1. I’m not a huge fan of fantasy (although lately I’m starting to read more books from that genre; thanks, Throne of Glass!), but I totally agree with the world building thing. Fantasy authors are so awesome in the way that they are able to make up whole worlds, languages, and all that. Nice post 🙂

    Like

    • Yeah, I’ve always love fantasy because it feels like you live multiple lives because the worlds are so different.
      Throne of Glass is a great way in, if you let me know your age then I could recommend some other fantasy for you if you’re ever interested.

      Like

      • So there’s the whole Cassandra Clare series, The Mortal Instruments and The Infernal Devices which is incredibly popular.
        Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor
        The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater
        The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer
        Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes
        A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas
        Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld
        The Martian by Andy Weir is si-fi but it’s incredibly funny.

        If you like Sarah J. Maas’s writing in throne of glass definitely start with a court of thorns and roses but it’s amazing.

        Like

      • I didn’t finish TMI, but I totally loved TID. I’ve read Daughter of Smoke and Bone and loved the writing style, but I just don’t think the plot is interesting enough so I didn’t bother with the sequel. Isn’t The Lunar Chronicles more sci-fi than fantasy? Haha but I’ve already read it, and in fact is one of my all-time favorite series. The Raven Cycle is actually on my TBR, up next for when I finish Throne of Glass. I’ve heard of ACOTAR, of course, and maybe I’ll squeeze that in after The Raven Cycle. I’m a bit hesitant with Afterworlds because I didn’t like Uglies..

        Like

  2. I’m not a huge fan of fantasy, but I have to agree with the world building thing! Fantasy authors are so awesome in the way that they can make up entirely different worlds, sometimes even languages, traditions and all that.

    Like

  3. Fantasy is probably my all-time favourite genre and I have to say, I agree with everything you’ve said here! I particularly love #1 and #2 about it — there’s just something so amazing about authors thinking of new ways of doing things. I always get super impressed whenever it’s completely inventive (though admittedly it doesn’t happen as often as I’d like).

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yeah, I just love the idea of a bestiary because I like organising and I just think it’s something really interesting but more for me than anyone else.

      Like

Leave a Reply

