Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

So I went into this book blind and not really knowing anything about it and it very quickly became strange and I don’t quite know how I feel about that. I normally don’t like to know too much about what books are about because I think it ruins it for me because I always see the twists. I think I would have been better off knowing this story had a fantasy element because that really threw me off.

Characters

Amani – So she’s our main character and she’s had a rough shot at life but I like her determination to do something about it. I don’t think she grows but she does have a few revelations which realty improves her likability.

Jin – The thing I like about Jin is that he has his faults and they’re real not some made up issues and you like him because he’s not too perfect which I’ve found happens a lot with many other YA stories. I think we need more of his backstory and I hope we get more into it because it’s really intriguing.

I can’t really talk about the other characters as we start getting into spoiler territory. I do think it’s important to note that I don’t have a favourite character – that’s not to say I didn’t like the characters but I just had no connection to them to love them. I don’t think you need to have a favourite character for you to read future books but for me the characters are not what I cared about in this book.

Romance

The romantic element isn’t really a part of this book but I think it may grow in the later novels but I think this element was just a bit thrown in there and I wasn’t too sure about it even though I didn’t dislike it.

Setting

I like the setting as it’s different but it did feel very liberal in what the author took from the past and the future and I think that’s ok but it can be quite off-putting. There are a LOT of cities/towns mentioned and it’s hard to keep these in track but it’s not really important but it’s hard to feel sorry for what’s happening to places when you know nothing about them apart from general human empathy.

Story

I have some serious issues with the story because it doesn’t really get to the meat of it until 2/3rds in and I’m glad I found out it was a trilogy because this felt like two different storylines. How it started out isn’t how it ended and I think that’s important to know going into that you’re going to get a more developed storyline in the future.

The one thing I loved was the story tales and the legends that we got I found them so interesting and that they really added to the world and the story and history.

The story is definitely the best part and I will read on for the story rather than the characters and to see what happens to them.

Plot

There wasn’t much of a plot to begin with but as we begin to explore the story more I quickly seen where it was going and I don’t think the twists are that surprising but still enjoyable.

Writing

This was my biggest struggle. I really struggled to follow what was happening at many points in the story and even rereading sections didn’t give me much light into the situation. Some of it felt so backwards and I found it hard to concentrate and figure it out in my head. This may just be a struggle I found but I think it should still be factored in.

Villain

There’s a very obvious villain and I really don’t like him but there are a lot of elements that I think need to be fleshed out a bit more.

Goal

There’s a small victory and the main bulk of the story is starting to happen and I am interested to see where it goes.

Overall I wouldn’t say it is a must read but if you like stories and history and legends then it may be worth a shot. I will read the next book but it’s not something I’m desperate for.

 

 

2 comments

  1. I don’t like it either when the story only gets interesting at like 2/3 of the book T_T Ive read so many mixed reviews on this book I thought I should get it but then I saw it in the bookstore and it was so tiny LOl like.. smaller than I expected.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

