Finding Audrey by Sophie Kinsella

I don’t really know what I was expecting from this and I’ve not really red any reviews or seen anything and I just went in blind.

So this is just a story about an issue of bullying and anxiety and you sort of experience it through someone else’s eyes. It’s just someone’s journey and there isn’t a great revelation but that’s kinda the point. It’s a hard issue to talk about and deal with because no one really understands the way someone else’s brain reacts.

If that sounds interesting then you can go read it for yourself but if you’re unsure then read on because it may change your mind.

Characters

Audrey – Although we are in her head and it’s her point of view you don’t know her apart from her illness which is a shame. I would have liked to have seen that she was more of a person than her disorder. She’s just fragile and I just feel sorry for her and wish someone was there to stand up for her or to encourage her to stand up for herself. It’s such a small snippet in her life and you just don’t get enough to know her.

Frank – He’s the swearing machine pretty much. And he’s like the main focus as well. It’s as if we have two completely different storylines going on and he is sort of drawing the attention away from Audrey.

Mum – I hate the mum, she’s infuriating. She’s so paranoid and thick and I know that’s cruel but she’s so annoying and she just seems so polarised. I wish she was more of that strong character from the women she was portrayed at work. I understand why she’s so panicked about Frank because she’s worried he’ll go the way Audrey does but her rationale is ridiculous.

Issue

I spent a lot of my childhood sticking up for kids and it frustrated me because I didn’t understand why they couldn’t just do it for themselves. But as I got older I realised that it doesn’t work that way and that not everyone grew up to stand tall and not let people step all over them or over anyone else. Bullying sucks and it impacts people’s lives. However, this book looks at the more extreme end and just focuses on a girl trying to deal with it and live her life all the while being reminded by her brain and everyone around her.

This is not a deep or powerful story but it’s important because it brings the issue to light and we need to talk about it. Too many schools and adults don’t understand the issue. I stand by the belief that telling a teacher/adult/someone of authority is not always the answer. So many people try and create one solution to a problem when there are a multiple circumstances that lead to it.

You need to surround yourself with good people and that’s something this book shows and it’s nice that there’s another perspective out there. Keep them coming.

Romance

I didn’t like her and Linus. I would have actually preferred there to be no romantic element because I don’t think it was necessary and just a bit shoehorned in there.

Setting

It was like a weird mix of American and England. I think someone’s messed with this and replaced the Briticisms and it makes it worse for it because I couldn’t relate to where I was meant to be. I think you need to go all in in one way or the other because the mix of both certainly didn’t work.

Story

It’s a small part of life with a girl trying to move on. You just experience it. We never find out what happens and you just need to accept that because it’s not the point.

Writing

I’ve been really enjoying books that have another element to it and having the small piece of documentary was just a nice break from Audrey’s mind and I suppose it is an effective way to get out of your head.

This book is fine, it’s just a perspective, maybe not the best one, but still worth something! We need to open up about it and talk about it to break the stigma of mental illness. This book means something to me for personal reasons because I know that you can’t always understand someone else’s brain. Even if you have never experience bullying or a mental disorder I think we can all relate to some part of this because we are insecure and that’s ok. What’s important is that we work though it and we don’t let it destroy our lives.

“I would die for you. But I won’t live for you.” Something like that. I think the idea is that every person has to live for his or her own life and then make the choice to share it with other people. Maybe that is what makes people “participate.” – Stephen Chbosky

 

Leave a Reply

