Dreams of Gods and Monsters by Laini Taylor (ANGRY SPOILERS, BEWARE)

ANGRY SPOILERS, BEWARE
As a person, I am generally pretty positive about most books I read and value some part and take something away from it but with this it is difficult. It is so up my street and just didn’t live up to the hype or expectation, not even close.I don’t have much to say about this book as it was such a struggle. I had to go back and forth between reading and an audio book. I fell asleep 3 times while reading it. I just found it so boring which is such a shame because I love the premise. I love fantasy and creatures but it was a mess. The Stelian were introduced….. Why? Eliza’s story was terrible and I skipped the chapters because I wouldn’t have been able to get through it. I was so close to just giving it up but I didn’t and I persevered and completed it.It’s such a shame because I loved Daughter of Smoke and Bones, like I want to go back and read it and I want to recommend it to people but after that it’s all downhill and I used to think I was crazy for not continuing but I’m annoyed I did. Then Days of Blood and Starlight which is so unmemorable that I only remember Karou finding Razgut and that’s it; that’s the only important thing that happened in it.And then there was this.I can’t explain why I dislike it so much, I have The Dream Thieves and Clockwork Princess next and the whole time I would have just rather have been reading them because I know I will like them. And prior I read Scarlet by Marissa Meyer which I loved and it had its flaws but it was so interesting.  So maybe that’s the problem or it’s that I had exams and then studying but I’m not sure.

When Akavia had a knife in his stupid heart, I put my hand over my face, shut the book over and sighed an angry sigh, I was so annoyed and angry, didn’t care. I knew that I had to read on in the stupid story about what happened and I was infuriated that I was burdened with it. GET LOST!

It was slow and anti-climactic and just not what I wanted, and if you want to say that I just don’t like slow books I’ll have you know I demolished The Queen of the Tearling and the Invasion of the Tearling and they were great, they warranted it. This book just doesn’t, I want to care for the characters but I just don’t, there are too many foreign names flying about. I hate the jumps between perspectives and it ruined the ebb and flow of the whole thing.

The ending for me was also just useless, I didn’t enjoy it, it wasn’t bittersweet for me. I love endings that aren’t perfect because it’s more realistic but with this it just wasn’t right.

And the worst part? No Brimstone!!!!

He is my most loved character with the shortest time spent with him. The whole series they talk about him so all I wanted was him. I know why he had to die and not be about by why not at the end? Don’t talk about something so much and not give it to us.

I would usually have a breakdown of the characters and plot etc. but I don’t have anything nice to say, and I don’t think it was worth it, so I think I’ll just leave it there.

Laini Taylor has a new book, Strange the Dreamer, and I’ll give it a go but if I don’t like it I think I have to accept she’s not for me.

 

2 comments

  1. UGH I felt the same way! I liked book 1 a lot and then book 2 was so tough to get through. I never did read book 3 because I was so put off by book 2 :/

    Like

    • Don’t read it if you didn’t like the second. Savour the first book, re-read it even and pretend that it was only one book because it was a really good book.

      I mean in my world the hunger games is one book only because I enjoyed it. It was a complete story to me and I have decided that it is only one book ever since. It’s hard because there’s films everywhere but you’ll be surprised what your mind can do with a little conviction.

      Like

Leave a Reply

