My most anticipated of 2016 (January to June)

So overall they are mostly starts to new series because a lot of the series I have read have now finished up and I’m currently trying to complete them. I would like to have new series to follow along with and that’s what I’m excited for at the minute and my anticipated books reflect this. I’m also trying to branch out and not just read the popular authors and known authors that are tried and tested because I read the Birthright trilogy by Gabrielle Zevin and it’s 3 of my favourite books and there isn’t much attention brought to them. Don’t get me wrong I’ll still read Cassandra Clare, Laini Taylor, and Sarah J. Maas but I want to mix up the authors and the genres I’m reading a little bit.

  1. Lady Midnight by Cassandra Clare (The Dark Artifices #1)

lady midnight

Publication 8th March

So I’ve read pretty much everything by Cassandra Clare but the Clockwork Princess which I was saving before her next book came out so Princess will be getting read soon.

This is a story 5 years after the mortal instruments and follows the story of Emma Carstairs. And is essentially a Shadowhunter novel with new characters which is great because Nephilim are some of my favourite fantasy creatures. I have always avoided the hype for books so I should really enjoy this and shouldn’t be too disappointed as I don’t really have any expectations because I pretty much know what I’m getting with Cassandra Clare.

 

 

2. The Shadow Queen by C.J. Redwine, (Ravenspire #1)

shadow queen

Publication 16th February

So this is like a magic fantasy but I haven’t really seen anyone talking about it but I’m in the mood for like a fairy tale type of story because I’m finally getting round to finishing the Lunar Chronicles. It follows a girl, Lorelai, who is a princess and is on mission to kill the Wicked Queen who took her and her father’s throne. Essentially I have the feeling it is a Snow White retelling with a magical element, which I don’t know how I’ll like since I haven’t read Winter but it’s a new series and I like the sound of it so why not?

 

 

 

 

3. The Hidden Oracle by Rick Riordan, (The Trials of Apollo #1)

apollo

Publication 3rd May

So it’s another mythology by Rick Riordan. I love his books and I fly by them and I like Apollo so I’m all good with another book along these lines. I think the Percy Jackson series I’ve stuck with longest and read it since I was 11. So that’s 8 years, which isn’t bad going.

So Apollo was Apollo and was punished but was turned into a regular teenage boy and has to survive and prove himself to Zeus. There’s not much about the story but following Apollo dealing with this is good enough in my opinion. Guess we will see what it’s more like when it comes out.

 

 

4. Starflight by Melissa Landers (Starflight #1)

starlight

Publication 2nd February

So I’m very sciencey and I like a lot of si-fi so this is up my street even though I can be quite particular about spaceship books and interstellar situations. It seems like a badass teenage girl dealing with her life as well as a conspiracy story.

I don’t need much more than that to go on so I’m excited to get around to it.

 

 

 

 

 

5) Outrun the Moon by Stacey Lee

outrun the moon

Publication 24th May

I think this is a historical fiction novel which I enjoy even though I’m not that much of a history buff.

Set in San Francisco 1906, it’s about a girl, Mercy Wong, who wasn’t to break the poverty in Chinatown all the while bettering herself through an education.

They’re hit by an earthquake and put under martial law, and I believe the story and drama ensues.

 

 

 

 

6.Yellow by Megan Jacobson

yellowPublication 1st February

So a YA murder mystery with a supernatural edge. Ok. Cool. I’m in.

So we have Kirra, 14, alone, kinda lost, no one to rely on, making a pact with a ghost.

She has to work out who killed this ghost and in return it’s like a genie in a bottle with 3 wishes.

I like the idea of it and it seems like a standalone so I’ll give it ago, my only reservation is that the main character seems a bit young for me but it’s something different for me and if I don’t try then I’ll never know.

And the cover’s beautiful.

 

7. Burning Glass by Kathryn Purdie, ( Burning Glass #1)

burning glass

Publication 1st March

Gifted girl who hid her gift dragged off to serve her empire by protecting the Emperor from assassination and the struggles that come with her power.

I’m interested in this because it’s a debut novel I believe and it’s close enough to something I enjoy to make it worthwhile reading.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 comments

Leave a Reply

